Executive Power Mad Libs

I’m in the mood for a good word game.

Topic: How the strong arm of the Executive is a direct result of the over delegation of Congressional power.

Oooooo! I knew you’d be excited.

You can disagree with me if you want. It’s not exactly a new argument. But if you’re game, I have done my homework, and I can probably keep the discussion going for approximately forever.

Sooooo, Congress has specific work to do, but they have had a habit, since the first wave of growth brought on by the expansion of the rail road system, to hand over their power to agencies. Most of the time they create these agencies themselves – we call this enabling…for reals – other times they throw new jobs at existing agencies. Either way, the result is the same. They take some of their power and give it to another part of the government. (Spoiler: it’s ALWAYS the Executive Branch.)

It goes a little something like this super cool mad libs style drama I have created for you.

Enjoy.

American People: We pick you 535 (plural noun) to make laws for us. Don’t be (adjective or plural noun) with all this power.

Congress: We have the authority and legitimacy to make laws about _(enumerated power).

­House of Representatives: Here’s a bill we passed in (amount of time).

Senate: We don’t like your (adjective) bill. Here’s our (noun) that took (another amount of time) to pass.

House: Fine. Let’s (verb) and make a version we can both pass.

Congress: We (verb) it! Our bill says we have the power to (verb), but we don’t actually want to (verb), so we are (verb-gerund) our power to (proper noun) so they/he/she/it can do it for us. We will provide (noun) to make sure (proper noun) is doing a (adjective) job.

President: I like your bill! I will (verb) it right away and choose my buddy, (proper noun), to be in charge of (verb-gerund) this new law.

Senate: Cool.

New Agency: Wow, Congress, thanks for (verb-gerund) me! I’m just going to go (verb) with my buddy POTUS and (verb) with you later.

OK OK OK OK…so I want to hear yours…but first, here’s mine:

American People: We pick you 535 beautiful-oopsies to make laws for us. Don’t be morons with this power.

Congress: We have the authority and legitimacy to make laws about commerce.

­House of Representatives: Here’s a bill we passed in a month.

Senate: We don’t like your reasonably well thought out bill. Here’s our more complicated and expensive version that took all year to pass.

House: Fine. Let’s duke it out and make a version we can both pass.

Congress: We finally got enough votes to pass it! Our bill says we have the power to regulate commerce, but we don’t actually want to regulate commerce ourselves so we are forfeiting our power to The Super Commerce Understanding Machine so it can do it for us. We will provide just enough oversight to get re-elected to make sure the US SCUM is doing a super job.

President: I like your bill! I will eat it like Popeye to become more powerful right away and choose my buddy, Ivan Neverrunanagencybeforeinmylife Lonewolf, to be in charge of doing what I want with this new law.

Senate: Cool.

New Agency: Wow, Congress, thanks for putting unreasonable amounts of trust in me! I’m just going to go hire a bunch of people who don’t report to you with my buddy POTUS and maybe check in with you later.

Seriously, send me yours. I need a good laugh-cry.

Find me at luckyvotingblazer@gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

